OPERATION MOONBIRD

BACKGROUND

According to the UN Refugee Agency UNHCR, over 19,000 people drowned while fleeing in the Mediterranean Sea between 2014 to 2019. After several documentations, the causes of refugee dramas heavily relates to boats in desolate conditions, lack of navigation facilities as well as rescue teams arriving too late. Various governmental and civil aid organizations are actively working around the Mediterranean to help stem the flow of refugees. In this context, HPI, in cooperation with Sea-Water, it taking on the task of civil air reconnaissance.

OBJECTIVES OF THE MOONBIRD OPERATION

In order to provide support to local government and civil organizations in their sea rescue efforts, HPI organizes a civil air reconnaissance over the Mediterranean Sea. The goal is to report the position as well as the condition of the refugee boats to the rescue control center MRCC Rome. This will assist the local relief organizations to help as effectively as possible.

WHY ARE SEARCH FLIGHTS NECESSARY?

With an aircraft, a larger area can be searched in a timelier manner in comparison to a ship. Refugee boats can be location quickly, the conditions clarified, and the aid ships guided effectively. This saves times, energy, and finances. Triage, and rescue operations can thus be carried out more efficiently.

OPERATION AREA

Many refugee boats leave Libya and travel towards southern Italy. Most aid organization are active off the Libyan Coast, where the aid is heavily required. HP1 therefore begins the search flights off the Libyan Coast.

logo.png
A STRONG PARTNERSHIP

HPI has been operating Operation Moonbird together with Sea-Watch since 2017. 

The combination of the know-how of the sea rescue and aviation has successfully led to Moonbird operating very efficiently in their important contribution to sea rescues. In 2017, more than 119 boats in distress were rescued.

Donation account

Donation account Raiffeisenbank Teufen
IBAN: CH31 8102 3000 0053 2884 0

BIC/Swift Code: RAIFCH22A23
BC (Banking Clearing): 81023

Contact

Humanitarian Pilots Initiative Foundation
Sonnenbergstrasse 20
9038 Rehetobel - Switzerland

info@hpi.swiss

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis

Moonbird Logo blank.png
OPERATION MOONBIRD

HINTERGRUND

Gemäss dem UNO-Flüchtlingshilfswerk UNHCR ertranken von 2014 bis 2019 über 19'000 Menschen bei ihrer Flucht im Mittelmeer. Boote in desolaten Zuständen, fehlende Navigationsmöglichkeiten und zu spät eintreffende Rettungskräfte sind unter anderem die Ursachen für Flüchtlingsdramen, wie sie mehrfach dokumentiert sind. Um das Flüchtlingssterben einzudämmen, engagieren sich rund um das Mittelmeer verschiedene staatliche und zivile Hilfsorganisationen. In diesem Kontext übernimmt HPI in Kooperation mit Sea-Watch die Aufgabe der zivilen Luftaufklärung.

ZIELE DER OPERATION MOONBIRD

Um die staatlichen und zivilen Organisationen vor Ort bei der Seenotrettung zu unterstützen, organisiert HPI eine zivile Luftaufklärung über dem Mittelmeer. Ziel ist es, die Position und den Zustand der Flüchtlingsboote der Rettungsleitstelle MRCC Rom und den Hilfsorganisationen vor Ort zu melden, damit diese möglichst effektiv helfen können.

Zahlen Vergleich
WARUM SIND SUCHFLÜGE NOTWENDIG?

Mit dem Flugzeug kann in kürzerer Zeit ein viel grösseres Gebiet abgesucht werden als mit dem Schiff. So können die Flüchtlingsboote schneller lokalisiert, deren Zustand abgeklärt und die Schiffe von Hilfsorganisationen an die richtigen Stellen gelotst werden. Das spart Energie, Zeit und Geld. Die Triage und die Rettungseinsätze können effizienter durchgeführt werden.

EINSATZGEBIET

Viele Flüchtlingsboote legen in Libyen ab und fahren Richtung Süditalien. Die meisten Hilfsorganisationen sind vor der libyschen Küste aktiv, wo die Hilfe am meisten gebraucht wird. HPI fliegt deshalb vor der libyschen Küste ihre Suchflüge.

Karte Mittelmeer
logo.png
EINE STARKE PARTNERSCHAFT

Seit 2017 betreibt HPI gemeinsam mit Sea-Watch die Operation Moonbird. 

Die Kombination vom Know-How der Seenotrettung und der Aviatik hat dazu geführt dass Moonbird sehr effizient operieren kann und so einen wichtigen Beitrag in der Seenotrettung leiste kann. Alleine im Jahr 2017 konnten so über 119 Boote in Seenot gerettet werden.